What is the difference between a zucchini and a cucumber?

Both are members of the gourd family but zucchini is usually referred to as "summer squash". Zucchini has smooth skin and generally cucumbers have "bumpy" skin. Cucumbers have a much higher water content so will break down under heat. They are not interchangeable.