Who is james major?

Saint James Major was in Jesus's innermost circle, and one of three witnesses to the Transfiguration and Jesus's agony in the garden of Gethsemane. He was also the first apostle to be martyred, put to death by King Herod (Acts 12:2) just 15 years after he was called by Jesus to serve.