What president had an alligator as a pet?

The Marquis de Lafayette regifted an alligator to President John Quincy Adams. The alligator was put in an unfinished East Room and its nearby bathtub. A prankster, Adams would often send unsuspecting guests to that specific bathroom and listen for the screams.