How long do volcanoes usually erupt for?

Volcanoes erupt because the lava beneath them is under pressure. They continue to erupt until the pressure is abated. This can be anywhere from a "Burp" with only a small gas cloud released to a full-throated roar that goes on for days with lava flowing down the sides and debris thrown into the air.