What happened to watergate?

Watergate was a US political scandal involving the administration of President Nixon from 1972 to 1974 that led to his resignation. His administration attempted to cover up its involvement in the 1972 break-in of the Democratic National Committee headquarters at the Washington, D.C. Watergate Hotel.