What is shake it up baby?

Twist and Shout is a 1961 song written by Phil Medley and Bert Berns. It was originally recorded by The Top Notes, but it became a chart hit as a single by the Isley Brothers in 1962. The song has been covered by several artists, including the Beatles, the Tremeloes, and the Who.