How do flowers form?

Flowers are the reproductive organs of some plants. They are specialized leaves, developing from cells in the plant's stems after a period of cold and darkness that varies with the species of plant.

---

At the top of the stem, a flower bud might begin to form (if it is a flowering plant). Eventually the flower bud will open up, or bloom, into a flower. New seeds will grow inside of the flower.