Why aren't koalas considered bears?

Koalas are not bears. They are not placental or 'eutherian' mammals, but MARSUPIALS, which means that their young are born immature & they develop further in the safety of a pouch. It's incorrect to call them 'Koala bears' - their correct name is simply 'Koalas'.