What do the stripes on the united states flag represent?

There are thirteen stripes on the U.S. flag to represent the original thirteen colonies.

---

On June 14, 1777, the Continental Congress passed an act establishing an official flag for the new nation. “Resolved, that the flag of the United States be thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new constellation."