How do you dress for a cocktail party?

You have know what class of people you are visiting with. If it's business, business casual. The summer weather you wear pastels, after 6 pm ladies wear off the shoulder with some bling. The men may wear a suit. Emily Post has a decent book explaining that. Spiff up, smile, chat up the folks.