What's pantothenic acid?

Pantothenic acid, also called vitamin B5 is a water-soluble B vitamin & therefore an essential nutrient. All animals need pantothenic acid in order to synthesize coenzyme A – essential for fatty acid metabolism – as well as to, in general, synthesize and metabolize proteins, carbohydrates, and fats.