How long is a short sword?

The blade is typically from 12 to 20 inch (30 to 50 cm) long with a sharp point. An average short sword costs 10 gp and weighs 0.9 kg. First edition D&D defined the short sword as "all pointed cutting & thrusting weapons with blade length between 15 inch (38 cm) and 24 inch (61 cm)."