What's the difference between simmering and boiling?

Simmering is when there are many small bubbles on the surface of a liquid due to heating. Boiling is when there are larger bubbles and more violent movement of the liquid due to heating.

---

The difference between boiling and simmering is a matter of degree. Simmering is a low boil having fewer and smaller bubbles than a full turbulent boil.