How many bones are in the back?

If you mean the human spine, there are 33 vertebrae in the human spine. (7 cervicals, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 that fuse into the sacrum and 4 that fuse into the coccyx.). The sacrum and coccyx are already fused into their respective bones at birth.