What does it mean when an animal is cold blooded?

A cold-blooded animal cannot regulate its own body temperature, it is dependent on the temperature of its surrounding environment. This is why many cold-blooded species such as reptiles warm themselves by basking in the sun, or cool themselves by sheltering in the shade.