Is oil a nonrenewable resource?

All fossil fuels are non-renewable, but not all non-renewable energy sources are fossil fuels. Coal, crude oil, and natural gas are all considered fossil fuels because they were formed from the buried remains of plants and animals that lived millions of years ago.