How do you get rust off of metal?

Soak metal in white vinegar for a few hours then scrub the rusty paste off.

---

It depends on how deeply the rust has corroded the metal. If the rust is just on the surface, you could use a wire brush, or sandpaper, or a file - plus elbow grease. If the rust is deep, you could use a body grinder. Urban legend says Coca Cola removes rust, but it doesn't, really.