How many years ago did the roman empire fall?

The western portion of the Roman Empire, including Rome, fell to invading tribes by 476 C.E., 1546 years ago. The eastern portion of the Empire continued for almost another 1000 years, finally conquered in 1453. That was 569 years ago.