What is the pearl harbor attack?

The Japanese Navy attacked the U.S. military facilities at Pearl Harbor in the Hawaiian Islands on December 7, 1941, resulting in the U.S. declaring war on Japan and the Axis powers, thus joining the Allied forces in WWII.