What's an ace pilot?

An ace pilot is usually considered to be a military pilot who has downed at least 5 enemy aircraft in combat. The term dates back to World War I with French pilot, Adolphe Pégoud, the first to down 5 German airplanes, being dubbed l'As (the ace).