What is a tethered spine?

Tethered Spine or Tethered Cord is a disorder in which the spinal cord is "stuck" to a structure within the spine such as dura, scar tissue from a previous operation, a bony spicule or even a tumor. Most cases are congenital and most often occur in patients with spina bifida