Why did theresa may resign?

Theresa May resigned because she failed to deliver Brexit. She said: "Ever since I first stepped through the door behind me as Prime Minister, I have striven to make the UK a country that works not just for a privileged few, but for everyone. And to honour the result of the EU referendum."