What is the origin of the san francisco forty niners?

The San Francisco 49ers were founded in 1946 as a charter member of the All-America Football Conference (AAFC) and joined the NFL in 1949 when the leagues merged. The name "49ers" comes from the prospectors who arrived in Northern California in the 1849 Gold Rush.