Why do farts make sound?

A fart's sound depends on the velocity of expulsion of the gas and the tightness of the sphincter muscles of the anus. Contrary to a popular misconception, fart noise is not generated by the flapping of the butt cheeks.

---

vibrations caused by the friction of pressurized gas rapidly moving through the lose floppy anal orifice creates the sound