What is the life cycle of a monarch butterfly?

Per the PBS NOVA special, Journey of the Butterflies, 4 generations of monarchs are born within 1 year. The first lives 2 months and migrates from Mexico to the southern US. The second and third generations live 1 month and migrate north. The forth generation lives 9 months and flies back to Mexico.