Is there a difference between a stone and a rock?

Both rocks and stones consist of the same material. Rocks are made of smaller stones and stones are made from rocks. Rocks can be described as a large piece of stone that is difficult to be carried in the hand. On the other hand, stone is just a small piece or pebble that can be carried in the hand.