Why is the grandfather clock called a grandfather clock?

Technically these are "longcase pendulum clocks". The name "grandfather clock" was adopted after the song “Grandfather’s Clock,” written in 1876 by Henry Clay Work, became popular. The song concerns the singer's grandfather, who owned such a longcase clock.