Is shadow faster than sonic?

Shadow's speed is nearly identical to Sonic's—arguably superior if you factor in his mastery of Chaos Control teleportation. Sources differ on who is truly faster, but generally give Sonic the edge, especially considering the small boost Shadow gets from his Air Shoes.