Who was the general of the union army in the civil war?

General in Chief of the Union Army from 1864 to 1865 was General Ulysses S. Grant. Grant fought both in Mexican-American War & in the Civil War, rising to the rank of Lieutenant General & leader of the Union Army in March of 1864. Grant was the United States, 18th president.