What is the definition of swing?

To swing is to move back and forth. It can also refer to a type of dance.

---

As a verb it means move or cause to move back and forth or from side to side while suspended or on an axis. And as a noun it refers to a seat suspended by ropes or chains, on which someone may sit and swing back and forth.