What are capers?

Capers are the unripened green flower buds of the caper bush, also called capparis spinosa or Flinders Rose. The immature buds are dried salted or pickled & used as seasoning or garnish in pastas, sauces, salads, etc for a piquant sour & salty flavor. The caper berries are also used in a similar way