How did plastic man get his powers?

He was shot in the shoulder and doused with a large drum of unidentified chemical liquid. He discovered that the chemical had entered his bloodstream and caused a radical physical change. He now had all of the properties of rubber, allowing him to stretch, bounce and mold himself into any shape.