What's a nanberry?

Its a book by Jackie French. It follows the surgeon John White, who defies convention and adopts Nanberry, an Aboriginal boy, to raise as his son. Nanberry is clever and uses his unique gifts as an interpreter to bridge the two worlds he lives in.