Why do they call it a pair of jeans?

There are several explanations. One is that French soldiers referred to Genoese soldiers by the nickname "jeans," and the word became associated with their pants. Another involves the pants themselves, with "blue jeans" supposedly coming from the French "bleu de Genes," meaning, "blue of Genoa."