What is a gunite pool?

According to Orenda, a gunite pool is an in-ground pool that is built with concrete called gunite, or shotcrete. A gunite pool is a common name for any type of in-ground pool that has a cement-based finish, such as plaster, quartz, or pebble, rather than a synthetic finish like a vinyl liner.