What is fulton's folly?

Fulton's Folly was the unfriendly nickname given by detractors to the steamboat Clermont, owned and operated by engineer Robert Fulton. In 1807, Fulton was the first to make a commercial success with a steamboat. Up to that time they were considered dangerous and unstable.