How often do dogs need to go to the bathroom?

Smaller breeds and younger dogs will need to urinate more frequently than larger breeds and older dog. The average healthy dog will produce approximately 10 to 20 ml of urine for each pound of body weight per day. Adult dogs should be allowed outside to relieve themselves at least 3-5 times a day.