Are pandas related to raccoons?

Giant pandas are in the family Ursidae with the seven other bear species. Raccoons are in the family Procyonidae along with ring-tails and coatis. The bear family and raccoon family are closely related. Red pandas (often called lesser pandas) are now put in the raccoon family.