How bad is a five point seven earthquake?

Magnitude 2.5 or less. Not felt, but detected by seismograph. 2.5 to 5.4 . Felt, but only minor damage. 5.5 to 6.0 . Slight damage to buildings. 6.1 to 6.9 . Lot of damage in populated areas. 7.0 to 7.9 . Major earthquake. Serious damage. 8.0 or greater. Great earthquake. Major damage.

---

The Richter scale is a logarithmic function based on totality of damage near the epicenter of the earthquake. The March 18, 2020 M5.7 earthquake north of Magna, Utah (just west of Salt Lake City) occurred at 6:09 am local time. It is assumed to cause moderate damage to structures and roofs locally