What are sparkles made of?

Sparkles occur when a small piece has a strong reflection or burst of light. Natural examples include reflections of sunlight on water, mica flakes in rocks, or stars. Man made sparkles are created by a collection of very flat, reflective flakes where each surface points in a different direction.