What's the difference between custard and soft serve?

Custard and ice cream are basically created from the same three ingredients: milk, cream, and sugar. The major difference between the two is that custard must also contain 1.4% pasteurized egg yolk (per the Food and Drug Administration). The addition of eggs gives it a smooth and creamy texture.