Can you substitute for substitute in soccer?

Why, yes! You can substitute for substitute in soccer. You can also use a replacement, a deputy, a relief, a proxy, a reserve, a surrogate, a cover, a fill-in, a stand-in, a standby, a locum or a locum tenens, an understudy, a stopgap, an alternative, an ancillary, a sub, or a pinch-hitter.