What does p. l. e. mean?

Product Line Engineering (PLE) is a way to engineer a portfolio of related products in an efficient manner, taking advantage of similarities while managing their differences. Engineering includes all activities in planning, producing, delivering, deploying, sustaining, and retiring products.