Why did ron artest change his name?

In 2011, the man formerly known as Ron Artest had a dream. And that dream was to bring peace to the world. To help with this goal, Artest, then of the Los Angeles Lakers, decided to change his name. And so “Metta World Peace” was born, or “Loving Kindness World Peace” if fully translated.