What is the story behind ring around the rosies?

The “ring-a-round the rosie” referred to a red circular rash common in some forms of plague. The posies would have represented different flowers and herbs people carried to ward off disease. The “ashes” and falling down was supposed to mimic sneezing and eventually dying from the disease.