Are caribou the same thing as reindeer?

Caribou and reindeer are the same species and share the same scientific name, Rangifer tarandus. Caribou are what the species is called in North America and reindeer are what they are called in Europe and Asia. All caribou are wild, but reindeer can be wild or domesticated.