What part of the cow is a flank steak?

Flank steak is a cut of beef taken from the abdominal muscles or lower chest of the steer. French butchers refer to it as bavette, which means "bib". Similarly, it is known in Brazil as fraldinha (literally: "little diaper"). The cut is common in Colombia, known as sobrebarriga ("over the belly").