What is the first trimester of pregnancy?

The first trimester begins on the first day of the last period and lasts until the end of week 12 of pregnancy.

---

The first trimester begins on the first day of your last period and lasts until the end of week 12. This means that by the time you know for sure you're pregnant, you might already be five or six weeks pregnant! A lot happens during these first three months.