Is sherbet a type of ice cream?

Sherbet is not ice cream. It falls in between sorbet and ice cream and includes dairy ingredients (in small amounts, about 1-2%), but it is distinctly different from ice cream in flavor and texture. Sherbet typically uses citric acid, which can make for more of a tart taste.