What is knobs in cribbage?

In cribbage, nobs is the name given to the Jack of the turn-up suit. That is, if the turn-up card is a four of Diamonds, then the player holding the Jack of Diamonds scores an extra point in their hand, known as "one for nobs" (sometimes "knobs") or "one for his nob" (or sometimes "his nibs").